The 30 year-old reader

The 30 year-old reader

Hehehe who would have thought

I have probably jinxed this new hobby by writing this post but who cares

It would have been a good run with reading if it ended now

Have you figured out what this post is about?

I can’t remember, but I think in one of the first posts on this space I mentioned that I do not like to read and I would probably struggle to read through a newspaper article even if it was only a hundred words long

What kind of writer does not like to read?

Look at me calling myself a writer…how smug. I barely am but you catch my drift.

I mean I write these posts every now and then, therefore, I am a writer

You write a to-do list everyday, therefore, you are a writer.

Lol

I have digressed.

Anyway, I was sitting through a presentation party at work about 4 months ago

What is a presentation party you ask?

A presentation party is a party where individuals make and present slides on any topic of their choice.

My boss did a presentation rating books she has read in the previous year on a scale of 1-10; she mentioned Colleen Hoover’s Verity; she did not tell us what it was about but stressed that she enjoyed it very much. There and then, I decided I was going to read it.

Fast forward to May 1, 2022, I walked into a book store planning to get Verity and I walked out with Verity, It Ends with Us and The Love Hypothesis.

Thanks to the Bookstore Clerk who basically convinced me by sharing her own sincere love for the books.

I started with The Love Hypothesis, found it too cheesy at about 30 pages in and dropped it!

I moved swiftly to Verity which was the book my heart really wanted to read. I finished it in 3 days.

That may be slow for you book veterans.

But for me, who had gone out to buy a book for the purpose of entertainment for the first time in 30 years, this was the speed of light.

Since the 1st of May, I have gone on to read and finish four books; which again is quite impressive for a woman of my persona. Lol

I will probably do another post telling you what I think about the books I have read so far.

My brain works in a funny way so when I am reading I am still thinking as widely as I would if I wasn’t doing anything at all.

Should I tell you what I loved most about Verity?

It was the dedication. Yup, the dedication at the start.

It read: This book is dedicated to the only person this book could possibly be dedicated to…Tarryn Fisher, thank you for accepting the darkness in people as much as you accept their light.

How beautiful is that?

It made me think of a friend.

I love it and it has sent me on a quest of reading book dedications wondering which one would top this.

Is this post even coherent?

Does it matter? lol

Write soon xx

9 thoughts on “The 30 year-old reader

Leave a comment